How Is My Hygiene?

Thank you for asking. It’s lovely, I’m infecting Haiti with my yummy Shayla pharemones and I don’t think they mind a bit. But I’ll fill you in on some of the happs of my week.

Our main goal has been to spend a lot of time in our tent city and get to know and pray for the people. We also do programs and open air services to speak the gospel. That’s been super successful, because a lot of people come and they show a great interest in who we are and what we are doing. And even after we tell them that we don’t have any food or money for them, they stay, so that means something. Tuesday, we had a day of intercession on the base because the Haitian people here are mad at the president because he’s not stepping down, and it’s basically causing a ton of riots. So for safety they kept us here…. And we prayed. Then they gave us a little course on what to do if anyone ever tries to kidnap us or if we get separated from the group. I know what I’m going to do, I’m going to pray that never happens.

Yesterday I was chosen to stay back and intercede for my team while they went to the tent city. Two people from each team stay back every day. So I was praying for five hours straight, and that was awesome. Then this tall lanky German guy walks by with one of the orphans, taking him to the clinic. I decide to invite myself along for some prayer backup. We get to the clinic and he explains that he and a solider noticed his arm was super swollen, and there was a little hole in it which was leaking out puss. Praise GOD for nurses, because I was gagging when she pinched his arm and started putting pressure on it. She used so much gauze. The puss just kept coming out. (I gagged typing it, so nasty). Then Eli started crying, I was sitting with him on the table, I started crying too. I just held him and kissed him and tried to comfort him. The kid was probably freaking out at all gunk coming out of his arm, right? Then, the tall lanky German who isn’t even a Dr. says this, “So, have they talked to you about hygiene?” I’m like, “Excuse me?!” I was a little angry, I’m in Haiti bro, and I wear deodorant! Then he says, “Are you sure kissing the children is safe?” I wanted to punch him in the face. I was so shocked, all I said was, “Well, I’m called here to love the kids. I’m sure Jesus would kiss the kids. So I pray, and I’m covered by the Holy Spirit.” And BTW my hygiene is fantastic! GRRRRR…. I’m not sure what I think of that entire interaction. I’m not going to stop kissing the kids. But I was really surprised someone would say that. It must be a culture difference.

So there’s my little update/rant about how Haiti is so far. Thank you for the prayers. Keep them coming. I’m not sure what next week will look like, I don’t really care either, I’m looking forward to tomorrow, because tomorrow is my day off! OH YEAH! Have a blessed weekend peeps! XOXOX

1 Comment

  1. Jaysa said,

    May 18, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Shayla my Shayla!!

    I love you so much and I can’t believe you are experiencing all of this amazing stuff on your mission trip! I can’t wait to see pictures when you get home. You’ll have to Costco print a bunch and make a really cool album.
    I love you so much my friend and my belly can’t wait to meet you 🙂 :). Auntie Shayla!!!!

    Love you lots!!!


Leave a Reply

