Kisses For Kids

That’s right, I still kiss the kids! I kiss the tent city kids, the orphans, the babies, I kiss them all. I feel great too. I must have the most bomb immune system! It’s so sweet. When we go to tent cities I think I get just as excited to see the kids as they are to see me. As soon as I bend down and hug and kiss one, there’s a love line. I’m like sweet, who needs kisses? I don’t speak Creol, so we communicate by the language of love, and it’s really special.

This past week has been pretty roller coaster-like. For all the moments when I feel excited and blessed and overwhelmed by the experience, it seemed like there were as many moments of sadness and questions. So, you know all the things you see on the news? All the piles of rubble where someone once had a house, that’s what it’s like all the time, but then add the smells and sounds of chaos and pain. And then picture as you drive up the streets people locking eyes with you. You see, and feel their pain. “Help.” What do I do? How do I communicate with them that it’s okay, when I don’t know if it is? Just this crazy battle for me when I wonder if I’m making a difference, how I can make more of a difference, and what role of hope I can play in a country facing such deep pain.

Well, that was last week. And this week, it’s different. We began this week with some promises. One, we received a huge pallet containing hundreds of five-gallon buckets of food. This changes things, because now we can offer people something to meet a physical need as well as a spiritual need. And, we are prayerfully hoping to continue receiving these pallets. So Monday morning we set out to out tent city to give out 100 buckets of food. We didn’t have any strategy, we were just like, okay, let’s bless!! Bad game plan. We basically started riots. We couldn’t get off the bus. Our tent city leader started handing out tickets and we could only give buckets to people with a ticket. So, we have to say no to the single mom holding her two babies crying because she didn’t get a ticket? Hardest thing ever. God has continued to provide for the Haitian people, His faithfulness will meet all their needs, and that’s a promise. God provides. Today was a little better. We brought the 100 buckets and walked around praying for people. They can handle their own distribution, because that gets crazy.

Tomorrow, I prepare for my great adventure. They are taking our team up to the mountains of Port-Au-Prince, rumor has it, they drop us off on a dirt road and we hike an hour to the pueblo we’ll be staying at for the week. The details are foggy, but I know I’ll be drinking goat milk, and sleeping on cement floor. I’m ready to stretch and grow, I’m pretty excited for the change of pace and environment. Pray for me, especially the goat milk thing. Please pray for my spiritual wellness, and the safety of my team as we are away. I’ll be back in a week and maybe I’ll have a sweet story about how I tied that goat up and milked him myself. But don’t count on it….
*This blog is a little depressing. Here, this is funny, we currently have 25 girls sharing one bathroom. DISGUSTING! BAJAJAJA ❤

1 Comment

  1. Candice said,

    May 27, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    ahhh…outreach days of sharing bathrooms with a million people. lol. when you get back we’ll have to share stories. Jamaica was ridiculous for us! anyway…I’m so blessed by your stories of love and tenderness with the people God places in your path. LOVE you so much and excited and expectant for the week ahead!


Leave a Reply

